Bass Fishing Forums - The Bassholes banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have this question posted in many forums so why not another one ....

Im a Complete Novice when it comes to a Baitcaster .... I want to learn thou ...
So what are some of your Pros for ? and Cons against ? Baitcasters ....

What should I be looking for and what should I stay away from ???

Any tips will be appreciated .....

I am gonna get one soon (in about a month for my Birthday) ......
I will get it at Gander Mountain thou I havent decided on which yet ....

It will depend on which is in stock , and what feels right ....

I have looked over several models and the 3 or 4 im really impressed with are

Team Diawa Super Advantage model (i think thats the name of it)
Abu Garcia Revo's
Quantum
and the Shimanos'

again any input will be helpful , thanks in advance

·
Banned
539 Posts
I have several Abu Revo STX reels. All cast like a dream and if you can swing it I would recommend the STX models over the less expensive Revo as it has features that will take some of the angst out of learning.

The most important rule in using a baitcaster is practice, don't try and overpower the cast, just let it happen, and don't buy expensive line until ya get use to the feel of the brake while enhancing your ability to thumb the spool. As you get more proficient it will be less brake and more thumb. Good luck and have fun.

I copied the below off of Abu's site:

Abu Garcia® is starting a revolution with the new REVO™ series of low-profile baitcast reels, the fastest low-profile reel Abu Garcia has ever designed.

The tough REVO is packed with innovative features, including a Duragear™ oversized brass main gear for maximum cranking power and the innovative Carbon Matrix™ Drag System for incredible smoothness across all drag settings. The reel also is designed with aluminum components for light-weight performance and lasting durability.