Bass Fishing Forums - The Bassholes banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody use or own a aqua view or other name brand under water camera. Just wandering if it would be worth having. I am new to fishing lakes. Thought it might help me understand underwater structure if I could see it in person and on the sonar.

Thanks

·
Registered
921 Posts
They are really big here in MN. They are built by the same company that started building our products. They are great for ice fishing but kinda hard to see when on the water running. Sorry lol. They use them here alot more now from boats were you use your regular electronics to find the spot and then stop and sit there and then they look. They are really pretty cool to watch.

·
Premium Member
3,987 Posts
Where are you planning to fish? To take advantage of underwater camera systems you need to have good visibility. Several pro's that I know used underwater camera systems to prefish lakes. They find fish on structure and validate that the sonar signals are in fact bass, without catching any of them.
The best way to know what a sonar signal is showing is to see it and a camera can help with that. I do not own a camera system because I'm not a tournament bass fisherman looking for that edge. Whenever a lake is drawn down and structure is exposed, you should photograph areas of interest. Then when the lake has covered the structure you can look at the pictures and the sonar returns to get familiar what looks like what. If you plan to fish off shore deep structure, and the water clarity is good, then a underwater camera may be a good investment. If the water clarity is average or poor then all you may see is light reflecting particulates, like looking at snow falling through binoculars. Have you ever hunted using a rifle scope when snow is falling? A scope is a great tool in good light, worthless in poor ilght, unless it's a night vison model. Same is true with underwater camera.
Tom

·